HomeTop

Home

Top

The Official Tourist Information Site for Wells

Westonzoyland Pumping Station Museum

Attractions > Museums

The whole of the Westonzoyland Pumping Station. Image © Alan DaviesWestonzoyland Pumping Station buildings. Image © Alan DaviesThe loco is a 1968 Motor Rail Ltd (Simplex) Type 40S 310, which came from Severn Trent Water Authority having been used at Minworth Sewage Treatment Works.  Behind the loco is Guard’s Van No.2001 and the Lister Railtruck. Image © Alan DaviesOpen dropside railway wagon WZLR 01. Image © Alan Davies1861 Easton Amos steam powered land drainage machine. Image © Alan Davies25HP Culverwell horizontal engine used at Holt’s Brewery, Burnham on Sea. Image © Alan DaviesThe Sissons Special Engine is actually two enclosed crank engines coupled together with a common flywheel, and operates as a twin cylinder compound. Image © Alan DaviesWaller vertical open crank engine built c1917 by Waller & Son. Image © Alan DaviesThis engine was manufactured in 1886 by W & F Wills & Co of Bridgwater and spent its working life in a local brickworks powering a clay mixer for the manufacture of bricks and tiles. Image © Alan DaviesThe Forge. Image © Alan Davies1938 Marshall Portable Boiler with new insulated cladding, used for raising steam. Image © Alan DaviesOne of the many dedicated volunteers driving the 1949 Lister Railtruck, which was originally used at Fisons Peatworks at Ashcott, Somerset. Image © Alan Davies

Hoopers Lane
Westonzoyland
Bridgwater
Somerset
TA7 0LS
01275 472385

Visit the Westonzoyland Pumping Station Museum website

Westonzoyland Pumping Station Leaflet (pdf 597kb)

Find us on TripAdvisor

The home of Somerset's first steam-powered drainage machine, Westonzoyland Pumping Station offers visitors the chance to see a fascinating collection of pumps and engines in action on special steaming days. Built in 1830, the Grade 2* listed building houses an 1861 Easton & Amos machine, fully restored and working. The museum's exhibition hall holds a variety of old industrial machines, a number of them having connections with Somerset's history. Outside is a narrow-gauge railway, running a small Simplex loco and Lister railtruck. The attendant's cottage is also open for visitors to see the former living and kitchen rooms. Free parking and picnic area; light refreshments and bookshop, on a riverside setting.

We are open every Sunday afternoon throughout the year and in steam on selected days between April and October and some Bank Holidays.  Full details will be found on our website.

Lat/Long : 51.090994, -2.943804

Visitor Information for THE CITY OF WELLS • MENDIP HILLS • SOMERSET LEVELS

Tourist Information